Archive | 5:55 am

These are my confessions

25 Feb

What an introduction this was. 1.12.04 is the date of this magazine. At the time, I had only gotten Sports Illustrated for Kids. But since I had just turned 12, I thought it was time to add the big brother to my repertoire: Sports Illustrated. And this happened to be the first one I got. Pete Rose on the front with words on it confessing to betting on baseball. I thought this was a sports magazine? I remember flipping through the pages and thinking, “Wow, this is really boring compared to SI Kids.” But as time went on and more normal looking covers arrived in the mail, I grew to love it. Every issue I like more and more. It is one of if not my favorite magazine. SI Kids is just a little to kiddie for me now, which is why I don’t get it anymore. I’m glad I realized that in August…at age 17. Anyhow, I love SI, bottom line. But if I got a cover like this today, I’d have to agree with my 12 year old self: bo-ring.