Archive | 8:27 pm

A saint or a colt? I’ll ride the colt

7 Feb

I said this last year in my Super Bowl preview, and I’ll say it again. It is too hard to pick a definite winner in today’s Super Bowl. Either team could win, and either team could just as easily lose. The Colts have the better record and Peyton Manning, but Drew Brees isn’t too shabby himself. My gut is to go with the Colts, but I would not be surprised if the Saints won.

The Super Bowl is about the only event (besides Obama’s election) that brings the whole country together. Even if people don’t like the game itself, they watch for the commercials or the food at the parties. If you don’t watch the Super Bowl, what are you doing? The Super Bowl isn’t just a sports game, it’s the entertainment event of the year.

Who’s your college basketball team? Oh, that sucks. Mine’s Syracuse

7 Feb

I don’t want to be regretting this post after today’s game, but as long as Syracuse beats Cincinnati on Sunday, we deserve to be number one in the land. Not that rankings mater, but they do to me just to show everyone how wrong they are and how good ‘Cuse really is.

For everyone who thinks their team is the best…you’re wrong. No one tops Syracuse. Kansas? Please. Not when you can barely put away easy teams. Nova? You just lost to a team we killed. Georgetown? You lost to USF and Old Dominion! Kentucky? Come one. We all know this isn’t the SEC of football.

But if Kansas must be number one, we’ll take number two. You know how it goes. First is the worst, second is the best. Unless Syracuse is first. Then it reverses.